I Have a Plan. An Actual Plan. I Planned It.

At the completion of my two year long WIP (first draft), I celebrated by catching a cold and pondering my next move while downing DayQuil and Sinex. Somewhere during that time (and did I mention that I am trying to pack up over twenty years of my life to move?) I formulated a brilliant plan.

Yes, I have a plan! For what? NaNoWriMo…in November. The last few years I have simply jumped into that month-long writing marathon without much forethought, but this year I decided to actually THINK about what I want to do, and even do some *gasp* planning beforehand! What is the plan, you ask?

lem_snick_author

AN OUTLINE!

If some of you are wondering if I decided to take something a little stronger than DayQuil, please just bear with me. I don’t usually write outlines until I’m to the last third of the story and I’m trying to ensure that everything gets inserted in the right order before the end of the book. But this time I’m trying something different. I will outline the manuscript FIRST, and then take off with it during the Month of Literary Abandon. The plan is to get this outline, er, outlined, and then gauge to see if the manuscript flows faster this way.

In the meantime, since NaNoWriMo is still three months away, I shall also *sigh* start working on editing that first draft. The sooner the first draft is done, the sooner I can gleefully pawn it off to one of my amazing peer editors.

See? It’s a brilliant plan!

 

Photo by: http://currentconfig.com

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andy Straub-Walden
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 01:36:31

    Moving? Where to? Plus, send me your draft! I wanna help you edit!

    Reply

  2. Andy Straub-Walden
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 17:36:11

    Vanity of vanities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

