Foreign Friday: Fathers

As the weekend approaches, I find myself thinking about Father’s Day, mostly because this week my dad came home after a five and a half month’s absence and it promises to be an epic Father’s Day. I know my dad has been a significant figure in my life (next to my mom, we’re a tight family) and I can tell that that positive influence can be seen in my writing.

Dads are usually cool. Unless they’ve been killed off before the beginning of the story.

20130130175441!Minato_Namikaze

One of the reasons I enjoy reading manga is that it gives a glimpse into the Japanese culture. What do they think of their fathers? What sort of quirks are general among them? In the end, fathers are the same across the globe, some are good, some are bad, some are… special, some are useless. We may express things differently, but fathers are fathers.

For all you fathers out there, I salute you.

Photo by: http://images.wikia.com

Leave a Reply

