Flying Raijin Level 2!

….Or, on to the next project! With the successful completion of the first major edit of my WIP, I can happily toss it onto my editor’s lap and work on something else, guilt-free. I feel as though I have completed a boss battle, and  am now facing a totally new level of game play, or I have “leveled up” my awesomeness to step up my game into the new WIP. (If I don’t congratulate myself, who will?)

Of course, the new WIP isn’t exactly new. I started it a couple of NaNoWriMos ago, and have periodically gone back to it and bulked up its word count. I’m excited to make it a focal point now, although I know there are some serious challenges in this story that I have to surmount as a writer. First, I am using it to exercise my ability to write in the first person. This is not my strong suit, and I know there are painful bits of narrative further back in the WIP. Also, I am writing about the real word (mostly), and I know that the current series of events has weeks that don’t include all seven days, or it repeats the same day twice, or holidays get bunched together. There’s a lot of work to do, not to mention the ultimate goal of reaching the end of the story, which even I don’t know what it is going to end up being!

Despite the obstacles, today I am full of optimism and energy. I am ready to find out how this story ends!

Leave a Reply

