What I Learned from NaNoWriMo 3: Verbally Challenged

Happy New Year everyone! After a wonderful two week break in which I only wrote out Christmas cards and gift tags, I am back with some more reflections on NaNoWriMo. (it feels so long ago now….)

ACTION!

The most sought after part of 70% of all the books I read. The make-it-or-break-it of many movies. One of the top things I completely fail at. Writing action scenes always make me feel as though I’m either spinning a ridiculous fish story (and I wrangled it with my line, and I yanked ‘er into the boat and it was THIS BIG!) or I’m typing out a martial arts manual (first, lash out with left foot. Toes should be flexed.) Neither option has me gripping the pages with anxiety, hoping the character makes it through and is about to kick some serious butt. As I reached some action sequences in my novel, I once again stumbled onto this problem. I couldn’t decided which was the lesser of two evils (unbelievable or static) and so I just went for it and ended up with…some static, some ridiculous, and some decent action.

Editing will definitely be required, but meshing the two seemed to bear some fruit.

Leave a Reply

