Fall is in the Air…Do I Smell NaNoWriMo?

The forecast speaks for itself. Temperatures are dropping, leaves are changing color, it is impossible to dress appropriately for the change between early morning and afternoon without wearing four layers of clothes, and rain is finally, finally on its way (much later that it should be. It makes this Western Washingtonian a little paranoid to see so much warm blue so late into the year). For writers, this change into fall, and the encroaching holiday season also means the approach of National Novel Writer’s Month, and the online writing challenge shortened to NaNoWriMo.

Last year was my first foray at the challenge, and while I pulled into success on Thanksgiving morning, I reflect that writing was all I was doing outside of work (and I wasn’t the best worker) for those 26 days leading up to the end. But I did it, and oh, the satisfaction was keen!

Now it is on its way again. 50,000 words in a month means no slouching, no binge reading (I’m currently plowing through the In Death series by J.D. Robb) and probably less than optimal sleeping time.

Anyone else care to join?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 07:52:54

    You know I’m in! Though we’ll have to take a little time out Nov. 3-4th for a little get together to look at some things 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

