Word Workout

Hello, my name is Jennifer, and I’m editing. I hate editing, although I know my stories always look a hundred times better after I’ve done so. I hate the time it takes to edit, although if I put in a half hour a day it wouldn’t take me all that long for a first edit run-through. Editing makes me wonder why I like to write in the first place.

There is only one thing I hate more than editing, and that is working out. I hate working out, although I know it improves my health and fitness. I hate the time it takes to work out, although if I put in a half hour a day I’d get in shape and stay that way. Working out, however, does have one unusual benefit. At some point during this self-inflicted torture I think, “This sucks, I’d rather be editing,” in which case I end my workout and do some profitable editing.

It’s convoluted, and it’s painful but I have been doing some editing lately. After all, it beats working out.

Leave a Reply

