Lost in an Austen Novel

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a large fortune must be in want of a wife. – Pride and Prejudice

To me, Classics are the books that have withstood the test of time, and whose writing style and contents can still be enjoyed by the modern reader. And so, to me, the Classics are whittled down for a very long list of Great Books to a handful of Really Good Stories that happen to have been written a long time ago. Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice possibly stands at the top of that Really Good Stories list for its ability to make me think, “Ah, this is SUCH a good story!”

Summer always makes me think of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, possibly because my cousin and I discovered the wonder of the 5 hour A&E video series of the story one summer, and watched repeatedly until we were running around speaking with English accents and wishing we could marry Colin Firth. (He truly is a wonderful Darcy.) This summer it struck me a little harder than usual, sparked by the discovery of a very entertaining trio of sequel spin offs by Marsha Altman, and I allowed myself to be immersed into the 19th Century England where manners, breeding and status were still important. A week and a half later, I found I’d watched not only the 5 hour series twice (now on DVD!), but I had also watched the theater version (with Kiera Knightly), and read 4 spin of stories. Now, all that is left is the original, which sits patiently on my nightstand.

This explains why I have had very little time or inclination to write (I apologize to my characters, but there is an adage that goes, “you write what you read” and wouldn’t it be great to write a book as well loved as P&P?)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy Isaacs
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 15:50:12

    Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorites, as well. I’ve read it several times and it never gets old. Pure perfection.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

