Slacking or Studying?: It’s All in the Definition

NaNoWriMo was an exhilarating experience, putting me in a writing fury which produced a work that, while rough, was exciting for me. I hoped to keep up with a steady pace into the new year, and try to finish the work as quickly as I started it. Needless to say, that hasn’t happened. There are some legitimate reasons for this, and some not-so-legitimate reasons. I decided that in January I would have to pick up the pace and get back in the writing gear.

“Excuse me, Ms. Mandelas, but the library is closed. Please take your droll-stained notes and leave.”

 

And I did, somewhat. But what became the real focus of the month was my one passion that supercedes writing.

Which is reading.

In the past month, I’ve read around 16 books. Most of them were the Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanaghan, which were fun, entertaining, and full of true historical factoids thrown into a fictional world. There’s nothing like learning something while being entertained, its one of the best parts of historical fiction.

Reading is not slacking, in my opinion. All writers should read, if only to pick up pacing tips or character ideas, or even what-not-to-do’s. I don’t count my month of January wasted.

But I really do need to add some words to that manuscript…

Leave a Reply

