Snow, Tea, and MLK

“I had a dream…”

Famous words, words that stick in your memory even when you fumble for what came next in the speech. There’s snow on the ground, my teacup is full for the second time this morning, and I’m in the mood to write. I find myself both thankful that a man had a dream which pushed my country to improvement, and also that I can sit here, pondering the words to his greatest speech, and dream of a day when I will have written something equally quotable.

You never know. It could happen.

I’m a long way off from writing speeches that will impact the world, but I feel that with each page of manuscript I write, I edge my way closer to improvement, to a place where I can be proud of myself. It’s a beautiful dream, and I want to make it a reality too.

In honor of MKL, let’s all strive for improvement.

Leave a Reply

