The Passing of an Era: E-readers

Merry Christmas to all, and a Happy New Year!

This December has been an unusual one for me, but the holiday season finally kicked in, bringing with it the timelessness of family traditions and a family oriented sense of “normalcy.” Into this special space of time, a gift had me thinking that time is flowing by faster than I would acknowledge.

I got a Kindle for Christmas. It’s my first e-reader, and I’ve been debating for nearly a year on whether I should get one. I buy books…a lot. My house isn’t getting any bigger…I read fast, so I get done with a book before a trip is over…I like carrying a book with me, and tomes such as The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter don’t fit in my purse. An e-reader is just what I need. But…

I’m a sentimental person. I still have my first grade art projects, old birthday cards and knick-knacks that I’ll never use but just can’t bear to part with. The idea of replacing books with something so space-agey as an e-reader seems wrong. I’m like someone who is handed an adding machine and is told to ditch their abacus.

I’ve overheard many people saying that e-readers are on the rise, and that gradually books will be a collector’s item. It makes me sad to think about this passing away, watching the begging of a book fade-out the way my grandfather watched the departure of the typewriters he repaired for a living. The change isn’t a bad thing, but it makes the world different than it was.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 04:36:29

    I have a kindle but I find myself buying hard copies. e-readers are good if you don’t have a lot of space that’s why I like them

    Reply

Leave a Reply

