The Novelist in December: Summer in Snow Season

With NaNoWriMo at last behind me, I came up for air and discovered that I was already in the midst of the holiday season. Cookies must be made, trees decorated, parties attended, presents to be shopped for and wrapped, and tree-admiring to be viewed. I still have some of that writing urge left over from November, but I have to take a step back and take stock of the situation.

First, I’m sleep deprived and both my arms are giving me tendonitis flair ups (knitting doesn’t help either). Second, on top of the holiday hustle and bustle, I sadly have some funeral and funeral-related activities to attend, due to the death of a good friend, and two days later, my godmother. While I could certainly continue my writing amidst all these things (I’ve done it before), I decided that I would take a month hiatus and recuperate on all fronts.

REMEMBER, IT’S ALL RIGHT TO TAKE A WRITING BREAK!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Haley Whitehall (@HaleyWhitehall)
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 17:47:55

    Hi Jennifer,

    Yes it is all right to take a break. Sometimes it is needed to keep our sanity. I’m not stopping my editing but I am slowing down for the season. After your break do you plan to go back to Adri or work on your nano novel?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

