The NaNoWriMo Aftermath: A Month of Novel Writing

Well, first there’s this:

Yes, I officially finished my first 50,000 word challenge. Confetti for all who took part! I can’t say that it’s my most eloquent piece of work, but by golly it’s 50,000 words off the ground on a new story (no, it’s not finished). The characters jumped out at me from the start, but I confess it took me about 30,000 words to figure out just where the plot was going. Ah, well. I reached my goal Thanksgiving morning, making one more thing to be grateful for! It was a good thing too, because by Friday night I was struck down with the flu and was out of commission all weekend.

From here on out? Well, I’m taking December off from any active writing. I’ll write if I feel like it. I want to complete this story, since I feel like it has some good potential, and I still want to work on those personal challenges I placed on myself with it. A writer’s work is never really finished, is it?

Leave a Reply

