Because the Holidays Aren’t Busy Enough!: NaNoWriMo Update

I’m taking a little breather here to give everyone an update on my first-ever writing challenge.

First: OOOWWWW! Tendonitis! Carpal Tunnel! Eye Strain! Bad posture! Late late nights!

Second: I can’t type fast enough! It’s both very exhilarating and very nerve wracking to have a deadline before my eyes, especially when I know that there will come days that I won’t be able to touch a computer this month. Typing frantically to meet a deadline is a feeling I’ve only ever had once, and that was self-imposed.

Third: Because I’m a masochist, I felt that writing a totally new novel from scratch in a month wasn’t enough of a challenge. So I decided to try writing in both a different genre and a different perspective than any of my previous works. I’m glad I had something like that in my pile of notebook ideas, and I’m happy to allow it to form into something real. Present day, in the first person – both have been difficult for me in the past, so I’m trying to tackle them in this novel. I can tell you now that editing will be a major drag later.

Truth be told? This is awesome, apart from the pain. I enjoy putting in my word count at the end of the day, and being able to see what progress my friends have made. That really makes it fun: I’m doing this with other people. There really are others out there who will willingly complicate the holiday season by trying to write a book in a month. I look forward to hearing what great stories come out of this chaotic month of linguistic artistry.

For those of you curious about what I have in the works, here is the synopsis I posted on the NaNoWriMo website:

16 year old Cilla Marchwood is one of the few people who know that magic still exists in the world. Why? Because at the age of 9 she was cursed – she may speak only 15 words a day. Despite this handicap, Cilla has managed to lead a fairly normal life in her hometown of Rockridge Washington…That is, until an encounter with a new classmate shows her just how involved she is with the Inner Circle of the magical world.

Good luck to us all!

Leave a Reply

