Skip the Cookie/Cracker and Go Straight to the Chocolate: Writing Scenes

Sometimes I write and I feel like I spend most of my time in the buildup/letdown stage of a story, and only get a few little bites of “totally awesome scene!” It’s kind of like eating a cookie with a cream filling: I am ambivalent to the crackery cookie on either end, but I love the frosting in the middle (especially chocolate).

I am a character and scene driven writer. The story ideas that come first into my head are people in the midst of an action or intense dialogue scene. I guess my brainstorming style is like a chocoloate chip cookie; pockets of of awesome, chocolately ideas that I then need to link together with cookie dough. Sometimes plausibility comes easily, and sometime you have to sit, wonder, and ultimately eat that stubborn chocolate chip or place it on a totally different cookie. Once it’s formed, it’s time to start writing.

Unfortunately, you can’t just have a book full of awesomeness if the reason for the awesomeness is never explain. (Well, I guess you could, but it would be like reading a book full of someone else’s inside jokes, or like trying to read a brownie mix in French). Some explaining, or buildup is necessary for a reader to get true enjoyment out of them. Yes, the cookie part is necessary to make it what it is. In fact, that cookie/cracker thing holding your awesome scene together can determine just how good the chocolate in the middle will taste. Have you shown just how much this scene is going to impact the characters? A good cookie/cracker should have little hints of mini chocolate chips, like foreshadowing, to make the anticipation better. I strive to make a better cookie/cracker every time I write.

Then, of course, there are some days when it will be more productive to just skip the cookie and go straight to the chocolate filling. Who knows? After you’ve finished writing The Awesome Scene, you might have some ideas about what has to come before it to make it even more awesome. After all, the best cookie sandwich is one that highlights, and compliments the creamy center.

That said, I think there are some brownies in my kitchen. Excuse me…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nkeda14
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 21:44:51

    This is an AWESOME metaphor for writing. I feel like this a lot, pacing yourself can be hard when all you want to write is the chocolate!… Now i have to go and get the Oreo’s out of my kitchen! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

