I Just Got the Writing Jitters!: When Inspiration Strikes

Why is it that those sudden, brilliant story ideas always occur when:

a) I’m in the middle of writing a completely different story

b) There is no writing equipment at hand

c) It’s 2 am in the morning and I have to get up at 5

d) I’m at work/church/driving

(the muses only call on me at inopportune times)

Regardless of when it happens, those flashes of muse-induced brilliance are like the sudden snowing of shiny pearls. If you’re like me, you discard your current WIP, find something to write with (even if its a pen on your arm), turn on the light at 2am, and (save for situation d) start writing. There is always that internal debate over whether you really want to get out of bed, but if you don’t write it down now, you’ll probably forget! In the midst of this furious scribbling is that lovely reinforcement – yes, am a writer.

This also explains why I have gotten very little sleep this past week, haven’t opened my WIP document, and am trying to find creative ways to write in my notebook at work. A cast of characters, some interesting twists, a few things I’ve had in mental storage, and tada! All it needs is some background music to keep the juices flowing. Ah, the thrill and excitement of a new idea.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to keep writing it all down while it still makes sense in my  mind….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nkeda14
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 19:16:02

    Love that feeling… stumbled upon it recently myself. Makes the stress of writing worth while if you ask me! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

