It’s Over Already?: The Letdown

All was well. – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Darcy, as well as Elizabeth, really loved them; and thy were ever sensible of the warmest gratitude towards the persons who, by brining her into Derbyshire, had been the means of uniting them. – Pride and Prejudice

“Well, I’m back,” he said. – The Return of the King

Every reader has experienced the odd sensation of reading the final page of a really good book (or series) and thinking, “That was awesome! Wait – it’s over? Hold on, what am I supposed to do now?” For a moment, it’s like someone cut a big hole in the road, and you are completely unaware of how you should proceed, or realizing that your best friend moved in the middle of the night to South Africa. The world does not halt, but it does jolt. For those of you who have never experienced this, you are either a robot, or you really haven’t been reading the right books. (if the former, this article will contain nothing of pertinent interest, and if the latter, read my book.)

That is my life’s goal as a writer. There really is not greater compliment to an author than a reader’s complaint that they didn’t want it to end. The first time a non close friend/relative told me that, a beautifully strange butterfly feeling occurred in my chest, making those frustrating hours of editing completely worthwhile. It got even better when they then asked, “So when does the next book come out?”

For my first published work, to hear anything to the tune of  “I liked your book enough to read another one” was the biggest triumph of my life. The hours and hours of staring at my computer screen, giving myself carpal tunnel from my bad posture (I write in bed during the winter, on a swing in the summer) suddenly were badges of honor instead of irritants. Universe of the Soul is my precious first child, and as proud as I am of it, I want the next one that graces the world to be even better. I want more people feeling the end-of-book letdown when it ends, wondering when the next in the series comes out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 17:05:05

    I really believe you’ll get that reaction.

    Considering I have a good idea of how things are planned out, people might have to wait a while for each book; but if they have that reaction, the wait for the next in series, or the next series it self, will be worth while.

    Reply

  2. Jeyna Grace
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 05:13:10

    Wow! I wish people would say that to me too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

