I’m My Best Fan: Liking Your Own Writing

I hate editing. Hate it. Hate it. Hate it. Unfortunately, my manuscript is always so much better after it’s been polished (or hacked at) so I can’t ever skip it. Despite the necessity (the deadline for my current manuscript’s first major edit is mid June), I find myself looking for excuses to NOT edit.

I need to read the thirty books I got from the library.

I really want to watch this movie for the ninth time.

I’ll reread those thirty library books before I take them back.

I’m not going to edit today because….it’s…um…Lent.

Yes, it’s pitiful. You would think I don’t actually like to write if you ever saw me during an editing phase. But I really do. I just don’t like to sit there and look at my finished work with a critical eye. I wrote it, it took a long time, why can’t it just be perfect now? As you can see, zero motivation. So, to motivate myself, I’ll sit down and just read my manuscript…with a pen (I have to at least try to convince myself to do actual work).

It’s fun. Even more fun is digging out the 2″ giant white binder which contains within it’s three mighty rings the drafts and ideas for unfinished works that dates back as far as middle school. It’s like sitting down and chatting with friends who live out of state; “you haven’t changed a bit!” “You’re still living on that farm?” “Awww, this is cute! When did I write this?” There are even comedic scenes that I laugh at. I can amaze myself with my own ability. “Wow, that was witty! ”

And then I think, “I want someone to read this and laugh too!”

Ah, motivation! Because if I really want someone else to enjoy that line or scene, I need to get it in a finished story. A finished, readable story. Yes, I manipulate myself like a kid. I go back to my manuscript, waiting by my computer with the patience of Job, still smirking at my own cleverness. I really am a great writer; at the very least, I can entertain myself! I love all characters, the plots are always good (I should know, I wrote them!), and there’s nothing in there that I don’t find interesting. I’m the best!

I love to read. I love to write. I love to read what I write. Don’t you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nkeda14
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 01:38:03

    YES! I hate saying it though, because I feel like people will look at me funny… lol (not that they don’t already)

    Though, this is true for me too. I like to re-read old things to get inspired, or pumped for new stuff. Nice Post Jennifer!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer Mandelas
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 22:04:37

    Thanks! It’s an odd, egotistical thing to say, but it’s important!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

