Read the Book Instead

Today I have a guest writer!
Last Saturday I was given the honor of writing a post for another blog. Today the wonderful author of Woven Strands graciously returned the favor and wrote today’s article on my humble blog. Please enjoy, and check out her site as well!

Read The Book Instead

There are so many fears and concerns while transforming a book into a movie. One of these concerns is “will the movie be true to the book?”

I realized that sometimes the movie needs to be told differently to succeed. A book has the advantage of the individuals imagination. Everyone transforms the book into whatever they most desire, all the author has to do is guide the readers thoughts into a world their audience would love to visit.

Before I was a bookaholic (yes I just said that) I was a MovieHolic (aha I said that too). I’ve seen every movie out there that is worth seeing. I didn’t realize it but I have.

I found in the books I read an experience I never had while watching a movie (well, maybe it happened once or twice). I didn’t switch to books completely, I like to indulge by watching a movie or a show here and there.

Back to what this post is about. Being true to a book can be disastrous (for all my twilight fans please don’t take offense) Twilight –the movie– sucked horrendously. They were true to the book in a way that sucked the life out of it. The movie didn’t flow, and each scene transitioned oddly. It was a disappointment. Waiting for years to finally live out the experience, and watch it unfold, to finally be welcomed by actors that can’t portray the essence of the characters. It was unfortunate.

Some movies take a book to the next level, making it better than the book. This is rare, very rare, but when achieved it’s explosive. The movie I am talking about is “The Notebook”. The movie had tears flowing down my cheeks all the way through. Do you agree?

Occasionally, the book and movie do each other justice. Beastly is my example of this balance. Usually I would advice that you read the book at least two weeks before watching the movie. That way you would not remember every little detail and expect the movie’s every progression (not fun). With this movie they made the slightest of changes that made the movie very appealing. I thought about the changes they made and a lot of them made complete sense. I started thinking about what if they were completely true to the book and realized I would have been bored to death.

Change is sometimes good. When embraced it can lead to satisfaction. So embrace the good and let go of the bad (just read their books instead ;))

What other books turned into movies did you enjoy and did their movies do them justice?

What movies are you expecting that are based on a book? Do you think the movie would do it justice?

Mine is The Mortal Instrument, comes out 2012, I hope they do ❤

(c) Hiba Abdelqader 2011

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wovenstrands
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 19:16:34

    Thank you so much for hosting me Jennifer ❤

    Reply

  2. Alexander M Zoltai
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 22:27:14

    The first Book/Movie experience that sprang to mind was Lord of The Rings.

    I’d read the books a couple times and the movies, I feel, did the books great justice.

    I remember a conversation I had with a friend then. He said, “It’s like the same story told by two slightly different people.”

    Reply

  3. A.M. Kuska
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 22:41:35

    Don’t forget there are also those books that really shouldn’t be made into a movie. Blood and Chocolate was one of them. The whole point of the book was that werewolves should stay with werewolves and humans with humans. Wolves and humans are just too different to make good couples. Unfortunately, if you make it into a movie and stay true to the book it doesn’t come out…well…PC. And if you ignore the book, then the whole premise becomes pointless. >.<

    Reply

    • wovenstrands
      Mar 20, 2011 @ 05:31:13

      I agree, it’s a transition. The movie should compliment the book and vise versa. It all comes down to the creative people behind the production and if they can achieve that.

      Reply

  4. kaleigh12344
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 01:40:36

    Great post! I always like to read the book first (if I can) before I watch the movie. In one unfortunate case though, I saw the movie of Eragon before reading the book. At the time I thought it was a great movie, but then I read the book, and went back and watched the movie again. It was horrible compared to Paolinis work in writing. Personally I hope they try to remake it, because the story would be great if they just got a good director and scriptwriter on board.

    Reply

    • wovenstrands
      Mar 20, 2011 @ 05:34:04

      I always recommend that a person should always read the book first, and they should always read it at least two weeks before going to watch the movie.
      When the book is fresh in your head your more likely to expect each and every scene and when they skip some your disappointed.

      Reply

  5. HaleyWhitehall
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 01:45:49

    Hiba,
    I completely agree with you and if you check out the blog I wrote today you will find out I’m a bookaholic too. Wonderfully written post!

    Reply

  6. nkeda14
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 00:19:53

    This is sooo true and your examples are dead on perfect! Beastly was fantastic book and movie 😀 I hope mortal instruments won’t get trashed… but I have this sick feeling about it, since I heard that they will try to put all three books into one movie… eeek let’s hope not!

    Reply

  7. wovenstrands
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 00:30:19

    No way, I didn’t hear that!!!! I hope not 😦 What about the sequels? are they not going to be developed into movies??

    Reply

  8. nkeda14
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 01:34:03

    Well I just heard that they were all going to be smushed into one (City of Bones Ashes and Glass I mean) I don’t know what will happen with clockwork angel… :C

    I just hope it’s gossip and not for real!

    Reply

  9. wovenstrands
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 01:48:29

    Yeah I hope so too. I just don’t understand how the movie is coming out next year and they still haven’t found the rest of the cast to start production.
    I just don’t want to raise my hopes too much because I really don’t want to be disappointed. The lower the expectations the better, i feel.

    Reply

  10. nkeda14
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 04:04:44

    Same here. That’s how i’ve been feeling about The Host movie based on Meyers book. It’s been said to be in production for two years now. ERRRRGGG darn movie people need to get it together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

